We offer a work exchange. View more details here: <a href=></a> <p> We are a gay couple living in rural Vermont on 107 acres (43 hectares) with three ponds. We have a large aviary with chickens, guinea fowl and peafowl. We also have a number of French angora rabbits. <p> Romney sheep, alpacas, Sicilian donkeys, potbellied pigs and 3 dogs round out the current animals on our farm. <p> Plans for 2015 include expanding our pasture area, raising ring neck pheasants, apiculture, fixing and expanding some out buildings, planting asparagus, establishing a blackberry or black raspberry patch and more! <p> If you are gay or gay friendly and are looking to get some skills in rural living -- or just want to experience a simpler earth-friendly lifestyle -- we invite you to join us for a week or more. <p> <hr> <p> <b>A little bit about us...</b> <p> Scott is a vegetarian and outdoor person who moved to Vermont from Florida in the 1980s. He solo-hiked the Appalachian Trail when he was in his 20s and that led to a career as an Outward Bound instructor. He currently works as a life coach out of our home with clients all over the world. He is an experienced Vipassana mediator (there is a Vipassana Meditation Center a few hours from our home) and he typically does two 10-day silent Vipassana courses each year. He volunteers with our local community as an EMT and Firefighter. Last year Scott started running marathons and this year he has his eye set on hiking the GR20 in Corsica. <p> Brian is a carnivore and a 6th generation Vermonter. He owns and runs a restaurant and bar complex a few hours from our house. He is skilled at operating our farm equipment (tractor, excavator, etc) and is the planner / designer of many of our outbuildings. Brian is a smoker but never smokes inside the house. He started running 5Ks with Scott and in 2014 completed his first Tough Mudder. He plans to do another Tough Mudder with Scott in June of 2015. <p> <hr> <p> <b>Type of help</b> <p> Gardening, Building, General Maintenance, Farming, Help in the house, Animal care <p> Depending on when you stay with us, you can expect to be involved with any of the following (or similar activities): <p> caring and feeding farm animals constructing an 8 x 64 wood pole shed building additions to existing outbuildings cutting, splitting and stacking 32 cords of firewood expanding electrical fencing (digging and installing fence posts) exterior painting interior painting gardening and other work with plants, grass, weeding, etc. <p> <hr> <p> <b>Accommodation</b> <p> Your accommodations are in our log home. We have two rooms for guests / friends / family : (1) a 400 square foot (37 square meter) room and (2) a 100 square foot (9 square meter) room. We share the rest of the space! <p> In the summer, you can sleep in our tent or just out under the stars if you wish (we have plenty of outdoor gear, sleeping bags, etc). <p> If we have lots of people staying with us, you may share one of the rooms. We also have two bathrooms in the house for sharing. <p> We have a laundry which you are welcome to use too! (No need to bring your own laundry supplies). <p> Smokers are OK -- you need to smoke outside the house. <p><hr> <p> <b>What else ...</b> <p> The Upper Valley, a landscape of powerful beauty, offers a wide range of year-round outdoor recreational activities as well as diverse social, cultural, and artistic communities. Situated near the Appalachian Trail, the area is renowned for its premier skiing, hiking, canoeing, and kayaking. <p> This area is rural. There is no public transportation. <p> We suggest that volunteers plan on bringing sturdy boots and leather gloves.


Internet, Outdoor garden

House Rules

House rules as well as additional information about the area, about us and our life will be emailed to potential work exchangers.
3 Bedrooms
4 Guests
Outside_only Smoking
Depends Children
Depends Pets
Located in Fairlee, Vermont, United States


Please login for comment on this property.